the radical rational…

in search of innovative ideas with a well-balanced approach for the math classroom

#Made4Math Monday – Parallelogram Foldable

on October 15, 2012

Its been a while since I’ve sumbitted #made4math Monday post.  I really like the idea of foldables – a kinesthetic graphic organizer…I believe they have a positive impact on student learning when used purposefully.

This one (found here parallelogram foldable) for parallelograms, rectangle, square and rhombus.  I wanted a foldable that somehow showed all were all in the parallelogram family, but still kept them separate – I chose a trifold.

image

When I saw an example of the tri-cut Venn Diagram, I knew I wanted to incorporate it somehow to show squares as the overlap of rectangle and rhombus.  This picture does not show the cuts between rectangle/square and square/rhombus, but I think its visible in the last picture.

image

The file is simply the skeleton, please feel free to make it your own (ha, just don’t go selling it as your own!)

image

I am still debating what should go in the center – thinking of examples / non-examples.   Possibly even giving students a couple of example problems using properties of quadrilaterals.  Istuck area formulas in at the last second – but think it may be more effective to let students discover area of a rhombus on the own.  Suggestions are always welcome!

One response to “#Made4Math Monday – Parallelogram Foldable

  1. Kathryn Jones says:

    Love this! I just taught this unit, so I’ll have to wait until next year! Thanks for the great idea!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,139 other followers

