More Good Questions

Standard

More Good Questions has really gotten me to start thinking about the questions I ask my students.  Its so easy to stay with the traditional skill/drill I grew up on – but I am encouraged by some things my students are coming up with when given the opportunity of an open question.

Yes, a few of them are still struggling with “where to start” but now they are at least giving me something – whereas the first couple of attempts – blank stares, blank papers, blank looks.

Today, students were given the opportunity to retake their pre-test to look for any areas they may not have mastered yet.  As a review, I placed a graph of a line on the board.  I asked, “What can you tell me about this line?  How many different ways can you write/describe this line?”

I will add my slides from their discussion tomorrow.  If you can picture a line through (0, 2) and (5, 0).

Timer set.  Go.

Here are some of their responses.

  1. Its a linear function.
  2. Its decreasing.
  3. Slope from the graph is -2/5.
  4. It will never be in the 3rd quadrant. (ok, didn’t expect that one).
  5. It has intercepts at (0, 2) & (5, 0).
  6. y=-2/5x+2
  7. 2x+5y=10
  8. y-4=-2/5(x+5)  which led to a student stating, “I wrote point-slope for too, but its not the same as ___.”  Discussion.
  9. A table of values was given with intercepts as well as (-10, 6) (-5, 4) (10, -2).
  10. Another verified the rate of change with the table of values.
  11. The inverse is y=-5/2x+5 (nice surprise)
  12. A line parallel is y = -2/5x + 4
  13. A line perpendicular is y = 5/2x+2
  14. It could model a budget of $10, Candy(x) is $2, Coffee(y) is $5…how many of each can I purchase and spend exactly $10?

Many students were able to be part of the sharing/discussion.  I felt it was a great review of topics – with one simple graph of a line as the starting point…I attempted to follow #sbarbooks suggestion to look for students with fewer things on their list and call on them first to allow for their participation.

I hope to continue to gather ideas from More Good Questions that I can easily incorporate into my classroom.  I am looking forward to a book study with my department as well and seeing where it leads our students.

I highly recommend this book by Marian Small if you do not have – its worth the purchase!

 
 
 
One response »

  1. Pingback: #MTBoS My Favorite: Open Questions & Level-Up Quiz | the radical rational...

Leave a Reply

