Quadrilateral Diagonals Properties

Standard

Over spring break, I was surfing online resources, searching for ideas and suggestions on how to plan and be more purposeful with the Mathematical Standards, which I have realized this year just how key these are to the success of CCSS. As I looked through Inside Mathematics , I ran across some PD training materials. I watched clips from Cathy Humphrey’s class. The Kite Task, an investigation of quadrilateral properties from seemed like a great activity to ease back on day 1 when we returned.

The task in short is for a kite company, who wishes to launch a new line of kites consisting of all types of qudrilaterals. The students are asked to devise a plan for how to cut/assemble the braces for each type of kite. They are only working with the diagonals in the investigation.

Rather than running copies and cutting out, I used my paper cutter to cut 1″ strips one color card-stock lengthwise and 1″strips width wise of a different collor (I didn’t realize how helpful this would be until later on). I created a strip to use as a guide on each strip, placed 7 holes equally spaced. Odd amount is best since they will be looking at bisectors some.
image
Each student would receive 2 of one color and 1 of another color.
image

Here are some snapshots of possible braces built.
image

For anyone who is having trouble visualizing, I’ve added some “sides” to the diagonals:
image

As we began the 2nd day of class, a few groups needed just a bit more time to wrap up their investigation. Using fist to five, I asked how many they still needed to determine. Most groups only 2 or 3, so I set the timer to keep us on track. I love days like this to walk around and just listen.

As I was questioning one of the groups, trying to ensure an absent student was on track, I asked the group’s members to “fill an order” – pick 2 sticks and construct the diagonals needed to brace…kite that was a rhombus, then another shape, etc to quiz them for understanding. AHA! Why couldn’t I use this as a formative assessment for the entire class?!?! Perfect.

When all groups had completed and debriefed a bit, I placed orders for kites and the students had to build the braces and pop up to show me for a quick assessment.

image
image

These pics were actually a geometrically defined kite. If you look closely, you can see a few wrong repsonses. To address these, I used extra sets of sticks to build a correct example and an incorrect example. To ask for suggestions why one was and the other was not correct. Why was one example actually a rhombus, allowing them to really compare/contrast the two figures.

Another great mistake I saw…when asked to create a rectangle, the top sketch is what I saw from about 6 students. Of course, my initial thought was, they dont understand the diagonals must be congruent.
image

Then I saw a student trace their shape in the air…second sketch. I literally saw their thinking. They had not used the sticks as diagonals. Clarified and corrected!

A post-it note quiz today, I built the braces, they had to tell me the quadrilateral name. A stop-light self assess, revealed most were confident, of the 10 yellows, 7 got all parts correct. The others missed 1, 2 or 3. All green students had each part correct.
image

We did a little speed dating to use properties to solve problems. As I listened to their approaches, most everyone seemed on track. Overall, I was very pleased with the results of the lesson.

2 responses »

  1. This was so helpful. I was looking for a game to help my students decide which quadrilateral I had depending on the diagonals. If I use your sticks and make another set, both of the same length, we can make rectangles, squares and rhombi. They would need to tell me if we have enough information or we need more. The game needs some more work, but thanks for the starting point.

Leave a Reply

