Patiently Waiting to Get into My Room

Standard

We have major renovations going on in our school, which will continue throughout the school year.  I am biting at the bit to get in my room to get it ready, but it seems that’s not any time soon.  So I wait.

I have many ideas bouncing in my head but I feel actually being there is what it will take to pull some ideas together.

I initially thought about painting the walls, but time and lack of decision will not allow it.  So here’s my color scheme for now…

image

My walls are a buttery yellow.  My teacher chairs and window treatments are the floral fabric seen above.  I completed those last summer and this fabric is very happy beside the wall color.

image

My tall wooden shelf is at home painted Watery Atoll Aqua.  I have many green baskets, storage boxes that compliment this shade of blue.  If time allows, I will paint my teacher desk and short shelf as well.

image

I picked up some green fabric (on shelf below the floral in picture) to cover my bulletin boards, two of which I will border with this gears motif…

image

Essential Questions for current units of study will be on one of these boards.  The other one will toggle between visual patterns, notice & wonder, Would You Rather and other thought-provoking prompts, hoping to integrate student interaction somehow.

One of my skinny boards up front will be used as an anchor chart for Sentence Starters to build accountable talk/debate,  questioning.

I would like to play off this poster I saw at Mardel’s while at TMC…

image

Good Thinkers Spotted Here to celebrate out of the box ideas, questions, student statements.  My concern @tchmathculture and  @cheesemonkeys will this add to status in a non-productive way?

Somewhere in the room, I would like  Shout-Out space for students to celebrate successes as the year progresses.  Last year, I used a Wall of Champions, would like a similar idea, but not necessarily limited to academics. Here’s a suggestion from Pinterest

image

Ideas/Pros/Cons

3 responses »

  1. Pam – love this post! We have renovations (asbestos) and a new building being attached to existing campus. So … we aren’t allowed in our rooms until our first day back – August 15. We will have a week to fix our rooms and attend meetings. I’ve been doing as much decorating/planning at home as possible – but I’m in a new room. I have pictures but it is still a challenge.
    I love your color schemes.
    I also like the celebratory posts around the doorway. I want to try something like that … need to figure out how to frame the wording, the materials, etc.
    Thanks for sharing! Keep the ideas coming 🙂

    • That’s exciting for a new room! Wondering if mine will feel new since it’s practically been gutted in the process. I estimated the size of bulletin boards from a picture as well. Good luck in your adventure!

      • Ahhh … new to me … and old room. I didn’t rate a room in the new building. Too bad too … the furniture there is really nice! Instead, I have an old science room – nice science teacher’s desk, science counter with cabinets, and one-piece student desks. The room seems small. I will make it work. First I have to make it aesthetically pleasing. The last teacher in the room wasn’t into aesthetics at all!
        Good luck to you as well! What would life be – if not an adventure?

Leave a Reply

