A Trip to the Capitol

Standard

Thursday was gorgeous.  A road trip north to our state capitol, Frankfort, with my husband and my superintendent.

Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards…and I was 1 of 24!!! 

image

I debated on whether or not to post, but I am proud of my work in education and why not celebrate it! 
I teared up multiple times listening to the speakers.  40,000 educators in our state, over 500 nominations.  Overwhelmed to make the 24!
I am  grateful for the parent, student or colleague who took the time to nominate me. Wow. That, in itself, is such a huge honor!

image

Yes, of course I was a bit disappointed I wasn’t named the Teacher of the Year, but listening to their professional biographies – I was in awe just to be recognized with them. Amazing teachers.  Easy to talk to, down to earth, simply loving what they do.

Last year’s TOY, Holly Bloodworth, shared how taking guitar lessons this past year…being a learner again, made her a better teacher.  She reminded us, sometimes with standards and testing, we forget…to keep the joy in our classrooms. 

Thank you to Ashland Inc. and Kentucky Department of Education for an amazing day being honored for doing something I love.

And a shout out to this guy…for always supporting and encouraging me.  And keeping me leveled out when I get overwhelmed.

image

Congratulations to all Awardees!  Thank you for your passion for education!

image

6 responses »

  1. OMG, how amazing! You are such an inspiration to me as a teacher and I’m so glad you were honored by your state for all you do!

Leave a Reply

