Modeling Systems

Standard

Sort of a rambling post. But trying to make some sense of my thinking…

I always appreciate posts from @emergentmath.  This particular post made me pause, I had just completed the MARS task, Boomerangs, he references.  We are in the midst of our systems unit.

I used Mary & Alex ‘ s suggestions with beginning systems without the algebra.  Conversations were great, students’ strength in reasoning was evident.

I plan to use Geoff’s suggestion for a matching/sorting activity this werk for students to see the benefits of each type of tool to solve systems.

But where I struggle is with this standard:

image

I am experiencing some pushback from a handful of students who are able to reason and solve a system without actually modeling it algebraically.

Their reasoning is correct.  They verify their solutions and interpret them correctly.  They can sketch a graph yet “refuse” to model as a system of equations.  I struggle because “their math” is right on.  I realize places where algebraic models can help but I honestly can’t tell them my way is better…yet the standard says…

It feels almost like I am punishing them if I make them model it algebraically.

Then I have others who are not sure where to start.  The equations model provides them a tool, yet they will not embrace it.

How do others handle this situation in your classrooms?

I use graphical, alongside a numerical table of values, with solving/verifying with the equations, letting them see their own connections eventually.

My biggest goal for systems is to provide enough modeling for students to actually “see a context” to connect/make sense of a naked system of equations.

This is where I believe skill/drill has ruined the power and beauty of math.  Finding an intersection point but what in the world does in mean?  It’s a point on a graph. Whoopee.  Why isn’t it all taught in context as a model?

Leave a Reply

