Posting Learning Targets yay or nay

Standard

Thanks to @JustinAion,  I got thinking…

It depends… on my class and the students and the activity…to determine if I actually post it.

However, when I do, I refer to it at the beginning, throughout the task – to remind students of the end goal, and again as a wrap up – whether reflection, exit ticket of discussion/summary to end class.  And I like to refer to it the following day as we begin the next lesson, just as a quick review.

I, personally, would prefer to have an overarching Essential Question for each lesson to use rather than a specifically stated target.  However, I sometimes struggle a lot with Writing EQs, would love a colleague to collaborate on these.

Here’s a section of the unit organizers I’ve used this past year (thanks @lisabej_manitou). 

image

And a link to this file.
Unit Organizer
Functions Overview

I give them to students toward beginning of unit, we complete the words worth knowing for vocabulary (thanks @mathequalslove). Then read through actual targets.  When quizzes are given back or practice problems checked, students have a place to reflect/record thwir level of learning as well.  Because students have this in their INBs, I can quickly refer to them if not posted on the board on any given day. 

One response »

  1. Hi Pam
    I read this with interest. It is great to have the kids feel that sense of accomplishment at the end of the lesson/unit by meeting the objective.
    Interesting, an English teacher at our school (@bellew) had the kids reflect on their main learning from the unit, and the great thing was, some superb enduring understandings came out. That could not have happened if the objectives had been explicitly stated by the teacher at the start.
    I think somehow we have to find the right mix of explicitly telling the students the outcome, and getting them to articulate their learning sometimes as well.
    Liz

Leave a Reply

