Summer Reads #Summerlist #junechallenge 2

Standard

I totally believe if we wish to instill a love for reading and learning in our students, we must be a model for it.  In class, I often share connections “I read…” – and students pay attention.  Once a group asked how much I actually read – that I was constantly referring to a book, an article or research in our discussions.

I want to sequence / plan lessons effectively – help students develop soft skills that lead to learning and individual growth.  Some of this can be modeled, but some will need to be incorporated into daily routines.

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

I wish I could be an effective leader in my department.  Hoping to gather some ideas for our PLC from Tim Kanold’s book.

Product Details

Previously read Jo & Steve’s work but revisiting – to reinforce foundational ideas.  I was intrigued by things Pam Weber Harris shared at KCM this spring and look forward to incorporating some ideas into classes as opportunities to let students develop their numeracy.

Product Details  Product DetailsProduct Details

A colleague shared how much she enjoyed What if?

Product Details

And one of these 2 books just to have some references / ideas to share in AP Statistics next year:

Product Details Product Details

My colleague made fun of me one morning – talking about my reading choices for summer – how I bring my “math books” to the pool.  If I wait until the school year begins, I may not have time to focus on professional reading.  Don’t worry, professional reading is not my exhaustive list…I begin each day with a devotional-driven book and end each day with simply non-thinking fiction.  I feel its imperative to keep my brain moving with different styles of literature.

2 responses »

  1. Pam, you are inspiring! Love your list of books … I’ll blog about mine soon. Today is our students’ last day; then we clean up on Monday. I too read a devotional/inspirational book, professional reading, and very light fiction! Can’t wait to compare!

  2. Hi Pam,
    I just finished Make It Stick with a book study group I put together at school. Can’t recommend it enough. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts…
    All my best,
    Steve

Leave a Reply

