Do You Let Yourself Fail?

Standard
Do You Let Yourself Fail?

I am currently reading Make It Stick, Peter Brown, et al. Chapter 6 states that we can sometimes experience the Curse of Knowledge (Eric Mazur)… The better you know something, the most difficult it becomes to teach it.

It reminded me of Megan’s post – how we need to practice struggle as a reminder of how our students feel.

Number Loving Beagle

I sat down this weekend to do some recreational mathematics with a friend.  Maybe you know him; his name is Justin Aion.  He writes a pretty cool blog over at Re-Learning to Teach.

I made it a goal of mine this year to work on some geometry for a few reasons.  First, I’m not that great at it.  Second, the students at our school historically struggle with it as well.  Two of the problems we chose were from the Five Triangles blog.  And to be completely honest, I sucked.  I sucked a lot.  I sat there for much of the Google Hangout drawing and drawing the figures and then writing down what Justin had eloquently discovered.  And then nodding in agreement. Here are pictures of Justin’s and my respective work:

Bw7xzT5IQAA-A1-0908141738a

Then we decided to work on something I thought was more my cup-o-mathematics tea.  Turning to the Math Forum, we tried

View original post 216 more words

Leave a Reply

