Handcuff Puzzle #MTBoSBlaugust Post 13

Standard

I’ve used this game numerous times in the past 20 years.  Today was the first time I saw a student “googling the solution”  – I laughed because I told them I used this in the mid-90s.  Most of my 9th graders were born around 2000ish.  It was funny because google wasn’t around back then.  I remember the first email I ever received.  I remember the first email I ever sent.

I remember going to a conference and creating a project called SONIC – Students On the Net In the Classroom.  My first webquest.  Wow.  I’ve seen a lot of changes.

But this puzzle is still a great one, timeless.

handcuffs link

I’ve used yarn.  Today I used curling ribbon because that’s what was in my cabinet.  Lots and lots of laughter.  Students upset because I won’t let them keep working on it.  I did ask that they wait a couple of days before actually googling the solution.

My goal these first few days…laughter, thinking, persevering.

Yesterday was a problem that almost everyone got.

Today, noone was able to solve it. YET.

Tomorrow, a team-competition per se.

2 responses »

  1. This is a good one. I didn’t use it this past year because I didn’t have “new” classes. I’m not sure if I will use it this year, as I’d have to get some new rope. It is a favorite of mine, and the students too. I hadn’t considered other “string” materials. 🙂

Leave a Reply

