Radical Rummy

Standard

I received this file about 5 years ago at KCTM in Bowling Green.  Kari from WKU shared it.  I apologize I cannot remember her last name to give credit.

image

She actually used it to play a card game style activity.  I copied sets onto different colored cardstock and laminated, I have enough sets we usually do groups of 3 people.

I do this activity along with Go Fish for simplifying radicals. 

There are four different forms of each value.  Students use calculators to match cards with same value.  We create a poster as a whole class.  Then notice and wonder. 

I like how students develop their own understanding of rational exponents, negative exponents and radical forms.  It’s a great intro activity.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/hsywphtj5sty9jn/Radical%20Rummy.pdf?dl=0

Leave a Reply

