Tried & True #MTBoS12Days

Standard

This is a short list of some of my favorite go-to tasks – mostly used for review / practice…  I’ve shared these numerous times with colleagues and they have used them with much success in ELA, Science, World Languages as well as other math classes.  I know when they’ve used them because students come into my classroom talking about it!

Nathan Kraft’s Grudge / Zombie  – kids beg to play it, they often use whiteboards, but other teachers have used it with paper/pencil.  I walk around the room to check their work.  It can be played with as little as 10 minutes left in class!  If I see common errors, I present them for discussion before we play the round.  Note:  Some people feel this game promotes competition rather than collaboration/learning.  I’ve not had any issues.  But you know the students in your classroom best.

Math Tales From the Spring’s Ghosts in the Graveyard – easily adapts to whatever holiday – Presents under the Tree, Eggs in a Basket, Leaves on a Tree, Footballs on the Field…  After playing this review game with students – they always ask to play it again at the next review.  I’ve even left this with Substitute teachers before – kids did more work those days than when I was there.  My Science colleague likes this review activity because its by chance who wins – it could be the team who has answered the most or the team who has answered the least.  But guaranteed, students are engaged the entire time.

The Hole Punch Game – Scroll to bottom of this post for description and an example file.  The file above is not one I created and I have no idea who to give credit to, but its a tried and true and always a success.

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

