Scholars. Champions. Leaders. #MTBoS30

Standard

No great achievement was ever produced by an attempt to be average.

Tweeted by @gregstankey, SEC Commissioner

I really like some of his statements in a commercial running as we were watching some baseball this evening.  I looked for the commercial, but could not locate it.  However, I watched some media clips from last summer.   I appreciated what he was saying.  This back drop essentially sums it up…

scholars

And here’s a link to the commercial, I finally located it on SEC.

Education, Competition, Opportunity.

I believe in a well-rounded student, whether its academics, visual/performing arts, athletics, farming, service learning projects, leadership, etc.  But I also believe, education is the core.  I disagree that athletes cannot also be academically focused.  In order to move on to the next level, they have to be prepared academically, otherwise, fewer doors will be open for them.  For a parent or even teacher to discourage an athlete to shy away from challenging coursework because their coaches / schedules are too demanding…well, I respectfully disagree.  They can do both.

Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.

Nelson Mandela

opinions are my own

Leave a Reply

