#readthree 2016 Day 5 #MTBoS @matheasyaspi @mikewiernicki @dsladkey

Standard

I’ve run across posts from  @matheasyaspi, an electrical engineer turned math teacher, several times this spring.  Today, I finally spent some time actually reading them.  Accommodating Imperfection, I especially like because she shows how versatile a set of cards can be.  Cheryl outlines four different activities using a single set of cards she has created and describes how each engage students and impact learning.

img_1378

A circle graph she uses as a Getting to Know You tool.

Sometimes I wonder if I would have been a better teacher had I experienced math outside the classroom first. I know I will be visiting her blog more in the future, because I am curious – how does someone who has taken her path, approach the learner differently than I do.  I look forward to learning more.


Last fall I had the opportunity to meet @mikewiernicki in person at NCTM, Nashville.  That’s one of the best things about #MTBoS, to connect a real person with conversations and blog posts.  I appreciate his open, honest reflections from his classroom.  In So…Have You Always Taught Math This Way? I especially like this paragraph

At the end of my first year, I spent some time in my room, at my desk and wrote down all of the changes I wanted to make and how I planned to make them.  This was probably the best idea I ever had!  Throughout the summer I reread that list and, when necessary, created things that would help me reach my goals.  I didn’t reach them all, but the next year was much more successful.  Couple that with the summer PL that I took and the way I was teaching math was really beginning to change.

ga400_screenshot

The post goes on to share how he took a silly news story and turned it into a 3Act style lesson – ways to engage student thinking and enhance discussions.  Definitely take the time to visit and pick up a few pointers on how to improve your teaching.


engagementwheelwithcopyright

This is one of the first blogs I began to follow is David Sladkey’s, Reflections of a High School Math Teacher.  I have used and share his Student Engagement Wheel many times and even purchased the book with support resources/ideas.  I like the Wheel for personal accountability and recommend it if you feel there are improvements you can make, but not quite sure where to start.  Its even more telling when you allow students to rate class using the wheel.

Leave a Reply

