Inspirare Post 4 #MTBoSBlaugust

Standard

Inspire.  Encourage.  Support.

I’ve always wanted to be the marigold.

When I was younger, my favorite Bible person was Barnabas – my role model, I wanted to be a real life Barnabas.

But I feel that I get so frustrated with things that don’t even matter.  I tend to isolate myself in order to not poison someone else’s attitude.  Maybe I should pack up and leave my job.    But then I remember why I’m here.  Then I remember who it is I work for…

I saw some amazing kids tonight at open house.  Spoke with many wonderful parents.

I am being trusted with these kids every single day.  What if I fail to challenge/support them?  What if we don’t laugh enough?  What if I’m unable to convince them math can be fun?  What if they don’t like me?  What if I’m unable to encourage and inspire them?  What if they don’t learn anything?

But, what if they do?

Forward Ever, Backward Never.  Those things we should keep from our past to stand on as we move forward.

Equity.  Achievement.  Integrity. (@DrSPruitt)

Do I provide every student with the same quality / access to learn?  Do I maintain a high level of achievement for every student, everyday?  Have I done the right thing because it was the right thing?

As I walk into my classroom next Wednesday, its all about my students, sharing some laughter, create some memories, share in the fun of math, challenge them, support them, give them opportunities to think and to celebrate…the day, the accomplishments, the students.

I must remember to breath.

20160801_160525.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. You are an inspiration to so many people on a daily basis. If I had to choose 3 words to describe you, the first 3 words of your post would definitely make the cut. “Inspire, Encourage, Support”. You inspire me to be a better teacher and person on a daily basis. Your texts and tweets send encouragement whether it’s about my classroom or my personal life. I know I can count on you to support me in my daily walk. You are most definitely a marigold to the people around you. Thank you for everything you do to make this world a better place.

Leave a Reply

