Reverse Quiz

Standard

As I was driving home this past week, thinking about a practice quiz from earlier that day, I wondered…
“What if I asked students to purposefully choose the wrong answers with support/reasoning they knew made the answer incorrect?  The goal, to get 0% correct…a reverse quiz.”


I’ve done similar things with mistake game, my favorite no, discussing our wrong answer analysis as small groups/whole class.  But maybe our next MC Monday will be this format.  There should be no green when we review our responses with Plickers.

I remember a discussion once with a colleague who told me that focusing on the wrong response would only confuse students.  I respectfully disagree.  I’ve seen how having students compare responses, similar/different allows them to develop understanding of the structure of expressions.  

I believe that this process and follow up discussion/students sharing why their response is wrong will allow them eliminate answers, which is a test taking skill.  

I believe it allows them room to take a risk and actually engage with the question.

If you have experience or suggestions, even links to research to support or otherwise, please share.  I look forward to seeing how this goes. 

4 responses »

  1. I’ve often wanted those online math games to have two ways of ‘shooting at” answers — and if you shoot down the “most likely misconception” first, you get bonus points… with a “why it’s wrong’ thing worked in there…

  2. This is a brilliant idea! I am definitely going to try it. We are moving into fraction and decimal operations next and I think this idea of showing and explaining common mistakes would be especially helpful in a unit involving a lot of procedural math.

  3. Pingback: Global Math Department is Thankful for YOU / Global Math Department

  4. Pingback: The Holiday Homestretch / Global Math Department

Leave a comment