Table Labels & VRG #thinkingclassrooms

Standard

To answer a question left on a previous post…

Above each table, I have a picture and name of a mathematician.  When I’m calling on groups, I refer to them using these names.  I have the labels alphabetical (sort of) and color coded as well around the room.

For Visible Random Grouping, I have Mathematician names on slips of paper in a bucket.  Students draw a name as they enter the room.

Equity – in an attempt to give all students role models, I chose males, females, African Americans, Hispanic – students are able to research, share and we discuss interesting facts about each mathematician.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Where to Begin… #MTBoSBlaugust Post 1 | the radical rational...

  2. Pingback: Mathematician Alphabet (Not Just Dead White Dudes) | La Vie Mathématique

Leave a comment