Jelly Blubbers & End of Week Reflection #MTBoSBlaugust Post 20

Standard

This is  my second round with AP Statistics.  My feet are at least on the ground – still much to learn but not that blinded feeling of last semester.

This week students read Chapter 12 on Sampling Techniques (BVD, 3rd ed.).  We began class by a quick survey of which technique you felt was going to be easiest to remember and which was most difficult.  Interesting results – they felt systematic sounded the most difficult.  I don’t have a picture of their tallies.

Not sure where Jelly Blubbers came from – but @druinok had shared them with me.  Its a great illustration to help students have a concrete model of each technique.  While leaving class, a student thank me for the activity because it helped them differentiate between them.

The stratified colony was a GREAT illustration for students to see how each strata was homogenuously grouped – it made sense when they saw it!  After going through the entire set of sampling techniques, the following day, I asked them to collect more samples, a couple using each method.  I felt it was important for them to run the collections on their own – me available when questions arose.  It was a quiet time, they were able to process “connect the dots” for each method.

Our discussion went back to our initial feelings of which one was most difficult/easy for them to remember.  Funny how most of them changed their minds with systematic and felt it was quite easy, once they “saw” how it worked.

Class ended Friday with a 2-minute reflection grid of their week.

wpid-20150821_150415.jpg

+ Something I’ve learned…

? Something I still have a question about…

! Something I don’t want to forget…

“lightbuld” – an A-HA moment…

No big surprises.  There are still questions about parameter vs. statistic, how to differentiate between cluster & stratified.  I plan to sit down this afternoon to find an efficient way of addressing their questions.

Its a small group of students.  Sadly, I lost several who took the class who were interested in Nursing because of scheduling conflicts with an MNA class.  But I love the mix of students I have – varied life experiences, varied interests, varied attitudes about their math abilities.  I look forward to this (ENTIRE) year with them.  My first round with stats was a semester block last spring – it felt rushed and cramming, but now I will have opportunity to let them develop their thinking and understanding of concepts.

It was a great week of school.

Leave a Reply

